1:48 scale kits are getting too pricey!

Yeah, the prices just keep getting up there but add in insane shipping at times and it's even worse. A while back I was going to order a couple kits from OldModelKits. Total was $102 for the kits and $105 for shipping. I fail to see any justification for that insanity.

I've been buying kits at antique malls for decent prices. The kit I'm currently building is a 1967 Inpact Gloster Gladiator. Decent kit, much better IMO than the follow ups by Lindberg and Pyro. Paid $5 for it and vendor had several other brands, mostly 1/48th scale for $5-12 each. Good hunting.
This is a good idea! I am pretty new to this hobby, and I enjoy a lot of the newly engineered kits. But I bet I could find some nice Tamiya's from the 90's for cheap

Is that kit a limited edition or something special?

I'm stuck on the clear-propeller for a Sabre part.

Is that kit a limited edition or something special?

I'm stuck on the clear-propeller for a Sabre part.
I think that all Clear Prop kits are some sort of limited edition. They don't have as much reach as some of the larger companies. There are ton of sprues in that kit

I received the email below from Airfix.UK a few weeks ago on Aug 14.
Seems like there was an Airfix kit price increase in late spring of this year so the US customers may have already been affected by this.
At least it was nice of Airfix to let customers know about prices going up ;^)
Lately I've been buying Airfix kits that are still at the "lower" prices while they're still available.

An Important Message for Our Loyal Customers
As one of our valued customers, we wanted you to be one of the first to know that we are adjusting our prices from 1st September 2024.