Very amateur astrophotography....

Grendels

Well I promised a few over in the Sci Fi section that if I got any good photos, I would post them. I got a few, and I got quite a few bad ones. This is my first attempt at it, and I may not get back to it for a while. I just don't have time for this, model building, the Girl Friend, work and everything else I would like to do with my life. So I have to pick and choose.

This first photo, I left the camera on auto with no flash, not good:

20120104_14.jpg

I thought for a minute and set the camera so I could control the shutter speed:

20120104_25.jpg

As you can tell it is underexposed, so I decreased the shutter speed. I think it was at 1/8 of a second:

20120104_26.jpg

And then I took a few more:

20120104_30.jpg20120104_35.jpg20120104_37.jpg20120104_39.jpg

Excited with this success, I turned my eyes to Jupiter and didn't do so well....

20120104_6%252520%2525282%252529.jpg

This was on the same shutter speed as the moon. This is the best photo of Jupiter I got tonight.

Keep in mind that there is no auto focus, and every camera setting has to be done by the operator. No auto settings. The planets are in motion, so keeping the telescope focused on them can be difficult.

I also have to focus the camera through the camera's view finder. I am using a Cannon Rebel Xti, one of the older consumer grade cameras. I might try the new one I got for Christmas with the next trip outside. It will let me focus using the LCD screen.

Also, the slightest disturbance of the telescope will cause the image to be out of focus. You will see an example of that in the next photo.

For the next photo, I upped the shutter time to 6 seconds:

20120104_18%252520%2525282%252529.jpg

This image looks that way because Jupiter moved in the six seconds the shutter was open. Tonight had almost no wind, and I am deep in a subdivision with zero traffic. No vibrations to the scope. This last photo was taken with a three second shutter speed: